Solved

Inconsistent Stickiness and Retention

• 10 September 2021
  • 6 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hi!

I’m new at using amplitude and I’m struggling to understand the relation between stickiness and retention.

I have set up a cohort with users that have a strong usage for a specific event (“AddToWishList” event), +5 events during july 2021, and at least one event (“AddToWishList” event) during august 2021.

Then I plot a daily retention chart during the period of august 2021 for the same starting event and return event, i.e. “AddToWishList”. Our daily retention is over 40% for the entire period as the figure shows.

So far so good. Then I plot the stickiness chart for the same event and time period and cohort. The below chart shows that 18% of users from the segment have emit the event only once and only a few users really “sticked” with the event.

Given a +40% of retention for a given cohort, I would have expected a higher stickiness for the same event. This said, I expect users to have used at least 15 days during the same evaluation month.

Given the above information, what should be the interpretation? Is there an inconsistency between both analysis?

Please if someone could help me! Would really appreciate it! 🙂

Regards!

Santiago

icon

Best answer by Denis Holmes 14 September 2021, 20:47

View original

6 replies

Badge

To answer your question, need additional informations. 

• What is the retention you are looking at. N day retention or Unbounded retention ?
  • Are you looking to the cumulative or non cumulative stickiness ? 
Userlevel 6
Badge +8

Hi @stgo.larrain , 

Would you be so kind as to send us the link to the two charts you are looking at? In the meantime, I recommend reviewing this article on stickiness as well as this article on retention. We can then take a look at the charts and see why this is the case. Thank you!

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hi @Denis Holmes!