My company has run into the same problem that was described here, here and here. When users are merged, we’d like any user property that starts with ‘initial_’ to not be overwritten. Can we enable the backend configuration change that was mentioned for our org as well?
Also, you may want to consider exposing this as a setting so that clients can handle this on their own!
US Service Animals